On the way to Santiago de Compostela

View from the coach on the way between A Coruña to Ferrol, Galicia, Spain
View from the coach on the way between A Coruña to Ferrol, Galicia, Spain

I’m leaving in the morning to walk the Road to Santiago de Compostela, Spain. I’m taking the English route or so called ‘camino inglés’. The walk from Ferrol to Santiago de Compostela is a pilgramage of 118km that can be accomplisehd in five days. I hope I can overcome my mixed feelings about being able, physically and mentally, to walk the Road to Santiago. Ultimately this pilgrimage is my quest to retrieve, love and believe in myself. Thus, I must be brave and do it. It has become meaningless to think of the irreversible past or the unfulfilled future. The present is the only place I can be and find all that matters. The simple fact of ‘being’ reminds me to pause and dedicate the ‘camino inglés’ to my purpose of developing self-knowledge, humility and unconditional love for myself and others. I must keep in mind that the present moment contains the only time there is to actually act – all else is imagination. All else is psychological time that leads to distress. I hope to get an insight and answer these questions:

-Which path am I on?

-Is my life in tune with my purpose?

  • What is my purpose?

To exist without an inner direction is fruitless – that only causes unavoidable despair and disillusionment.  I aim to accept and handle wisely whatever happens along the way. I’m imprisoned by fears but I want to become fearless and with an unshakable believe in the goodness of myself and humanity.  I’m about to start the Road to Santiago de Compostela…

 

Leave a Reply

